During the reporting period, several members of the Faculty of Physics won awards.

Dr Christian Schneider received a prize of 2,000 euros for his outstanding dissertation. Markus Heckschen received a prize of 1,000 euros for excellent academic performance. The CEO of Sparkasse Duisburg, Dr Joachim Bonn, and the Vice Chancellor of the University of Duisburg-Essen, presented both prizes to their recipients during a small ceremony.

Dr Nora Dörmann won the University of Duisburg-Essen’s 2019 Diversity Prize in the managerial category. She is the Managing Coordinator of CRC 1242. The prize honours her commitment to supporting the group’s researchers.

Dr Anna Grünebohm has secured one of the sought-after early-career research groups in the Emmy Noether Programme for her research into harmless and easily available materials for generating electricity from temperature differences or mechanical energy. The groups are endowed with 1.3 million euros in funding for a period of six years.

Professor Michael Farle has received a ‘Mega Grant’ (2019–2021) from the Ministry of Science and Higher Education of the Russian Federation. He researches magnetic MAX phases with Russian colleagues at the L.V. Kirensky Institute of Physics in Krasnoyarsk. 

Dr Mehmet Acet received the Turkic Council’s renowned science award for academic and technological research in 2018 (in the 2019 ceremony) for his groundbreaking work on the inverse magnetocaloric effect.

Dr Ulf Wiedwald was honoured by the German Federal Foreign Office and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation in 2020 for his outstanding contributions to the two countries’ collaboration in science and education.