Faculty of Medicine

Awards and Distinctions

In the past two years alone, the scientists from the Faculty of Medicine have built up quite the collection of national and international awards and prizes for their outstanding scientific achievements.


Selected awards:

Alexandra Adamczyk MSc
(Institute of Medical Microbiology): Research Advancement Prize from the German Society of Mucosal Immunology and the Microbiome (DGMIM), 2016

Prof. Sebastian Bauer
(Internal Clinic (Tumour Research)): GIST Award from the GIST Gruppe Schweiz – a Swiss organisation supporting those affected by gastrointestinal stromal tumours (GIST), 2015

PD Dr. Anja K. Büscher,
Prof. Stefanie Weber

(Paediatric Clinic II): Johannes Brodehl Prize from the German Society of Paediatric Nephrology (GPN), 2015

Prof. Katharina Fleischhauer:
Mechtild Harf Science Award from the German Bone Marrow Donor Centre (DKMS), 2016

Dr. Katarina Forkmann
(Clinic for Neurology):
European Prize for Pain, 2015

Prof. Erich Gulbins:
Eva and Klaus Grohe Prize from the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, 2015

Sebastian Hönes
(work group of PD Dr Lars Möller, Clinic for Endocrinology and Metabolic Disorders): Von Basedow Prize from the German Society of Endocrinology (DGE), 2016

Prof. Bernhard Horsthemke:
Medal of honour from the German Society of Human Genetics (GfH e.V.), 2016

Prof. George Iliakis:
Ulrich Hagen Prize from the German Society for Biological Radiation Research (GBS), 2016

PD Stefan Kasper
(Internal Clinic (Tumour Research)): Foundation award from the German Head & Neck Tumour Research Foundation 2015

PD Dr. Diana Klein
(Institute for Cell Biology (Tumour Research)): Dieter Frankenberg Award for emerging talent from the German Society for Biological Radiation Research (GBS), 2015

PD Dr. Joachim Klode
(Clinic for Dermatology): German Skin Cancer Award (Translational Element) from the German Skin Cancer Foundation, 2016

PD Dr. med. Stefan Landgraeber:
ASG Travelling Fellowship from the German Society of Orthopaedics and Orthopaedic Surgery (DGOOC), 2016

Prof. Karl Sebastian Lang:
Admission to the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences, Humanities and the Arts, 2015

Dr. Susanne Lütje
(Clinic for Nuclear Medicine): Dagmar Eißner Prize from the Middle-Rhine Society for Nuclear Medicine (MGN), 2015

Philipp Marx MSc
(Clinic of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery): Young Investigator Award from the Society for Minimally Invasive Therapy (SMIT), 2015

Dr. Julia Pohl
(Clinic for Cardiology): Hans and Gertie Fischer Prize from the Rhine-Westphalian Society for Internal Medicine (RWGIM), 2015

Dr. Stefan Radtke:
Fritz Schiff Prize 2016 from the German Society for Transfusion Medicine and Immunohematology (DGTI), 2016

Professor Ulrike Schara
(Paediatric Clinic I): Humanity award from the German Duchenne Foundation, 2015

PD Dr. med. Bastian Schilling
(Clinic for Dermatology): Fleur Hiege Memorial Prize from the Hiege Foundation against Skin Cancer, 2016

Prof. Alexander Schramm,
Paediatric Oncology Research Laboratory, Children’s Clinic III, Fritz Lampert Prize 2016

PD Dr. Jörg Steinmann
(Institute of Medical Microbiology): Becton Dickinson Research Prize from the Foundation of the German Society for Hygiene and Microbiology (DGHM e.V.), 2015

Prof. Beate Timmermann:
Recipient of the Health:Angel Health Media Award in the category of Medical Technology, 2015

PD Dr. Niels Voigt and Dr Jordi Heijman (Institute for Pharmacology): Oskar Lapp Research Award from the German Cardiac Society (DGK e.V.), 2015

Dr. Regina Wobben
(Institute of Physiology): Sparkasse Essen Prize for the Best PhD Thesis within the Faculty of Medicine, 2015

Dr. Denise Zwanziger
(Clinic for Endocrinology and Metabolic Diseases): Oberdisse Prize from the North Rhine-Westphalian Society for Endocrinology and Diabetology, 2016

Hermann Seippel Prize – German Research Prize for Paediatrics

In 2016, a research project seeking to improve the diagnosis, treatment and aftercare of brain tumours in children was the first recipient of the Hermann Seippel Award – German Research Award for Paediatrics from the University Hospital Essen Foundation. This project, which is being carried out by scientists from the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Münster and the University of Duisburg-Essen, has secured 200,000 euros worth of funding. With around 500 newly diagnoses cases each year in Germany, brain tumours are the second most common form of cancer found in children. For most solid tumours in children and, in particular, childhood brain tumours, there are no definitive markers to show whether a therapy is working and the tumour has completely disappeared by the end of it. In a bid to find such a marker, Dr. Basant Kumar Thakur and Dr Stephan Tippelt from the Paediatric Haemotology and Oncology Department at the Paediatric Clinic III within the Faculty of Medicine at Essen University and Dr Kornelius Kerl from Münster University Hospital joined forces and ultimately received the Hermann Seippel Award – German Research Prize for Paediatrics from University Hospital Essen for their pioneering work.