Faculty of Engineering

Awards and Distinctions

Several staff in the Chair of Construction Operations and Construction Industry received awards: A prize was awarded to Tobias Bruckmann (Chair of Mechatronics in the Department of Mechanical and Process Engineering), Jens Diepenbruck (Mercatronics GmbH) and Arnim Spengler (Chair of FG Construction Operations and Construction Industry in the Department of Civil Engineering) in the KUER start-up competition organised by Startbahn Ruhr GmbH.

Christian Karl received the German Simulation Game Award 2015 for his dissertation “Simulation and Gaming in Construction Business”, and

Wulf Himmel, doctoral candidate in the same Chair, received the 2015 advancement award from the German Association for Project Management.

The Chair of Mechanics also received multiple awards. Prof. Paulo De Mattos Pimenta — Humboldt scholar from the Cidade Universitária in São Paulo (Brazil) — received the Georg Forster Research Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.

Matthias Labusch was awarded the SEMC 2016 Young Researcher Award in September 2016 in Cape Town, South Africa, during the conference “The Sixth International Conference on Structural Engineering, Mechanics and Computation” for his article on “Multiscale homogenization of magneto-electric porous two-phase composites” and

Prof. Jörg Schröder — head of the Chair of Mechanics — was elected into the “Academy of Sciences and Literature/Mainz”.

In 2016, Christoph Lorenz from the Chair of Metal and Lightweight Structures was honoured by the German Committee for Steel Construction at the 20th DASt research colloquium for his lecture “Numerical simulation of tightening performance of screw fittings taking into account plastic material behaviour”.

Danka Dittmer-Gobeljic was awarded the Sparkasse prize for her dissertation entitled “Polar Microstructure and Nanoscale Electromechanical Behavior of Lead-Free Piezoelectrik Ceramics”, which was completed at the Chair of Material Sciences.

Vladimir Shvartsman from the same Chair received the Gottschalk-Diederich-Baedek prize from the foundation of the same name in Essen for his research into Solid State Physics and Atomic Force Microscopy.