At the traditional annual graduation ceremonies, the Faculty honours the best graduates of each study programme and also regularly awards prizes from cooperating companies (Sachtleben Chemie, BK Giulini, Axel Semrau). In 2010, the Gesellschaft für Didaktik der Chemie und Physik (Society for the Didactics of Chemistry and Physics, GDCP) awarded its medal of honour to Professor Elke Sumfleth and its young researcher award to Dr. Sabine Fechner. The former CEO 
of Sachtleben Chemie, Professor Wolf-Dieter Griebler, Honorary Professor of the Faculty of Chemistry, received the University of Duisburg-Essen Prize in 2010 for his long-standing commitment and cooperation with the Faculty in teaching and research.