Awards and Distinctions

Many of the researchers working in the Transformation of Contemporary Societies main research area received distinctions in the reporting period. These included awards, fellowships at internationally renowned institutions, posts as visiting professors at home and abroad, and appointments to (inter)national expert societies, editorial boards and committees. We would like to mention a small selection of these awards and distinctions.

Prof. Florian Coulmas, Senior Professor for Japanese Society and Sociolinguistics at the UDE Institute of East Asian Studies received the 2016 Meyer Struckmann Award for research in the humanities and social sciences in recognition of his pioneering international research on demographic change in a non-Western industrial nation. Prof. Carolin Rotter received the Kurt Hartwig Siemers Science Award of the Hamburgische Wissenschaftliche Stiftung in 2016 for her habilitation thesis “Zwischen Illusion und Schulalltag. Berufliche Fremd- und Selbstkonzepte von Lehrkräften mit Migrationshintergrund” (Between illusion and school life. Professional perceptions of self and others in teachers with a migrant background) on teachers with a migrant background, which was published in 2014.

The current research achievements of Prof. Ansgar Belke have attracted widespread attention not only in the German-speaking world but also in a European and international context. In the current Handelsblatt Ranking of economists with the strongest research performance in Germany, Austria and Switzerland, Prof. Belke was placed among the top 20 (19 out of 3,000). In the ranking of the largest bibliographic database for research results in economics, IDEAS, he reached the top 0.6 % in Europe and the top 1 % worldwide in October 2016.

Fellowships from internationally renowned institutions were awarded to: Prof. Christoph Bieber (Goethe Institute Salvador Bahia, Brazil), Prof. Achim Goerres (Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona, Spain), Prof. Ute Klammer (Collegio Carlo Alberto, Turin, Italy), PD Dr. Corinna Schönhärl and Prof. Benjamin Scheller (Historisches Kolleg Munich, Germany), Prof. Ute Schneider (German Historical Institute Paris, France), and Dr. Patrick Eiden-Offe (Institute for Advanced Study Konstanz, Germany).

Raphael van Riel was granted a second funding period of his Dilthey Fellowship from the VolkswagenFoundation for the project “Eine Untersuchung der Erklärungskraft – A Study in Explanatory Power”.

Others include:

  • ‚‚Prof. Karen Shire, Specially Appointed Professor, Ochanomizu University, Institute of Global Leadership, Tokyo, Japan (10/2016–09/2018)
  • ‚‚Prof. Achim Goerres, Visiting Professor at the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies in Cologne (04/2016–09/2016)
  • ‚‚Prof. Markus Taube, Honored Professor at the School of Economics of Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Wuhan, VR China (05/2017–05/2020) and President of the Euro- Asia Management Studies Association (EAMSA)
  • ‚‚Prof. Michael Kaeding, PADEMIA Teaching Award 2016

Junior researchers working in the Transformation of Contemporary Societies main research area also received recognition:

  • ‚Dr. Dietmar Meinel, fifth year of the Global Young Faculty, MERCUR
  • ‚‚Dr. Sabrina Mayer, fifth year of the Global Young Faculty, MERCUR
  • ‚‚Shuanping Dai: Best Emerging Scholar Paper, Third World Open Innovation Conference, 2016
  • ‚‚Karsten Witt: Award of the German Society for Philosophy and Ethics in Psychiatry and Psychotherapy in 2016 for his essay “Identity Change and Informed Consent”
  • ‚‚Hanno Jentzsch (GRK 1613 Risk and East Asia), Francesco Kjellberg Award, International Political Science Association, outstanding paper by new scholars for 2016 for the essay “Tracing the Local Origins of Farmland Policies in Japan – Local-National Policy Transfers and Endogenous Institutional Change”